1. Executive Summary
Sears Canada Inc. was a separately incorporated Canadian corporation, governed by the Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA), traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol SCC, with its own board of directors, its own pension plan, its own employees, and its own legal obligations. It was not a division of Sears U.S. It was a Canadian company controlled by U.S. shareholders.
Sears Holdings Corporation (U.S.) held just over 50% of Sears Canada’s shares, giving it voting control. ESL Investments Inc., the hedge fund controlled by Edward S. Lampert, held approximately 27.6%. Lampert personally held another 10.2%. Together, these U.S.-connected entities held approximately 88.8% of the economic interest in the Canadian company, with Sears Holdings controlling the majority of voting shares.
On December 6, 2013, the board of directors of Sears Canada declared an extraordinary cash dividend of $5.00 per share, totalling approximately $509 million. At the time, Sears Canada was operating at an annual loss of $187.8 million, and the pension plan was underfunded by approximately $133 million. Approximately $453 million of the dividend went to U.S. entities — Sears Holdings Corporation and ESL Investments.
Three and a half years later, on June 22, 2017, Sears Canada filed for protection under the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act (CCAA). It subsequently liquidated all remaining stores. The pension plan, underfunded by approximately $260 million at wind-up, left 18,000 Canadian retirees with permanent pension reductions of 14–30%. Some retirees, like 73-year-old Ron Husk with 35 years at Sears, returned to work as greeters at Home Depot.
Three lawsuits were filed targeting the 2013 dividend — by the Monitor (FTI Consulting), the Litigation Trustee (Hon. Douglas Cunningham Q.C.), and the Pension Administrator (Morneau Shepell). All three settled without trial. The total litigation recovery to the pension plan was approximately $34 million. The retirees received approximately 7.4 cents on the dollar of their $650 million claim.
This document compiles the factual record across two investigations, identifies findings of unfairness, gaps in the public record, and questions that were never publicly answered.
2. The Corporate Structure: Sears Canada Was Canadian
Every finding in this investigation relates to Sears Canada Inc. — not Sears, Roebuck & Co., not Sears Holdings Corporation, and not the U.S. retail operations. This distinction is critical because it determines which laws apply, which courts have jurisdiction, and where the obligations to pensioners arise.
Sears Canada Inc. was incorporated under the CBCA. Its pension plan — Registration Number 0360065 — was a Canadian defined benefit pension plan, governed by the Ontario Pension Benefits Act and supervised by the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario (FSRA). The 18,000 retirees are Canadian citizens and residents. The $260 million pension deficit is denominated in Canadian dollars.
The U.S. entities are relevant only as the parties who controlled the Canadian company, extracted its value through dividends, and then sheltered behind U.S. bankruptcy protection when the Canadian retirees came to collect.
2.1 The Applicants in the CCAA Proceedings
The CCAA filing named the following entities as Applicants: Sears Canada Inc., Corbeil Électrique Inc., S.L.H. Transport Inc., The Cut Inc., Sears Contact Services Inc., Initium Logistics Services Inc., Initium Commerce Labs Inc., Initium Trading and Sourcing Corp., Sears Floor Covering Centres Inc., and several numbered companies (173470 Canada Inc., 2497089 Ontario Inc., 6988741 Canada Inc., 10011711 Canada Inc., 1592580 Ontario Limited, 955041 Alberta Ltd., 4201531 Canada Inc., 168886 Canada Inc., and 3339611 Canada Inc.). Sears Connect LP, a partnership, was also included.
FTI Consulting Canada Inc. was appointed as Monitor. Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP served as counsel to the Monitor. Justice Hainey of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Commercial List) supervised the proceedings.
2.2 The Board of Directors at the Time of the 2013 Dividend
The following individuals served as directors of Sears Canada Inc. and were subsequently named as defendants in one or more of the 2013 dividend lawsuits:
William C. Crowley: Former EVP and CFO of Sears Holdings Corporation. Previously president and COO of ESL Investments Inc. Co-founded Àshe Capital Management LP in late 2012 after leaving ESL. Served on the Sears Canada board from March 2005 to April 2015. Yale law degree. Goldman Sachs background.
William R. Harker: Former SVP and General Counsel of Sears Holdings Corporation. Previously general counsel of ESL Investments Inc. (February 2011 to August 2012). Also co-founded Àshe Capital Management with Crowley. Served on the Sears Canada board from November 2008 to April 2015. University of Pennsylvania educated.
Ephraim J. Bird: Resigned from the Board prior to the approval of the 2013 Dividend (for reasons related to overall Board composition, per the directors’ Statement of Defence). Subsequently served as EVP and CFO of Sears Canada from March 2013 to June 2016. From 1991 to 2002, Bird was CFO of ESL Investments Inc. Currently senior VP and CFO of Sears Hometown and Outlet Stores Inc. Stanford MBA. Licensed CPA.
Donald Campbell Ross: Named as a defendant in all three dividend lawsuits and the 1291079 Ontario Limited class action.
James McBurney: Named as a defendant in all three dividend lawsuits and the 1291079 Ontario Limited class action.
Douglas Campbell: Named as a defendant in all three dividend lawsuits and the 1291079 Ontario Limited class action. Had expertise in retail turnaround strategy.
Deborah E. Rosati: Named in the Litigation Trustee’s claim and the Pension Administrator’s claim.
R. Raja Khanna: Named in the Litigation Trustee’s claim and the Pension Administrator’s claim.
The ESL connections are concentrated in three directors: Crowley (former ESL president/COO), Harker (former ESL general counsel), and Bird (former ESL CFO for eleven years). Three directors with direct ESL financial and professional ties participated in or around a dividend decision that sent approximately $452 million to ESL-connected entities. Crowley and Harker were not considered independent under National Instrument 52-110 (which relates to independence for audit committee membership) and were not members of the Audit Committee.
2.3 The Initium Entities
Three separately incorporated Initium entities were among the Applicants: Initium Commerce Labs Inc. (e-commerce and technology), Initium Logistics Services Inc. (logistics and fulfilment), and Initium Trading and Sourcing Corp. (procurement and sourcing). These were not mere brand names. They were separately incorporated Canadian corporations with their own employees, assets, contracts, and data.
In 2016, Sears Canada launched Initium as an initiative to overhaul existing legacy platforms into a new cohesive, functional, adaptable and user-friendly online retail enterprise. The sears.ca website was rebuilt under Initium’s direction. Sears Canada entered into an agreement with CGI — a $14 billion technology company — to support the re-engineering of its technology platforms. Executive Chairman Brandon Stranzl stated publicly: “We’re going to make Sears into an e-commerce company with a set of stores attached.” At the time, Sears Canada’s e-commerce and catalogue division generated approximately $500 million in annual sales.
The August 16, 2017 employee notice (Appendix A to the Monitor’s Second Report) is addressed “To Sears Canada Associates at RSC and Initium,” confirming that Initium had its own distinct workforce and organizational identity.
3. The 2013 Extraordinary Dividend: $509 Million
3.1 The Facts
On November 19, 2013, Sears Canada announced that its Board of Directors had declared an extraordinary cash dividend of $5.00 per share on all common shares, totalling approximately $509 million in the aggregate, to be paid on December 6, 2013 to shareholders of record as at December 2, 2013.
At the time of the dividend declaration, the following financial conditions existed: Sears Canada’s reported net earnings for fiscal 2013 were $446.5 million, but this figure included massive one-time gains from selling off prime real estate assets such as the Toronto Eaton Centre and Yorkdale Shopping Centre leases. Excluding those one-time asset sale gains, the underlying retail operation was running at an operating loss of approximately $188 million. The company’s reported “profit” existed only because it was selling its most valuable properties. The pension plan was underfunded. The dividend of $509.4 million exceeded even the reported net earnings of $446.5 million — meaning the board paid out more than the company earned even after counting the asset sale gains.
3.2 Who Received the Money
The dividend recipients were determined by share ownership. Sears Holdings Corp. held 51% of Sears Canada and received approximately $260 million. ESL Investments Inc. (Lampert’s hedge fund) held approximately 27.6% and received approximately $140 million. Edward S. Lampert personally held approximately 10.2% and received approximately $52 million. Together, these three U.S.-connected parties held approximately 88.8% of the economic interest and received approximately $452 million of the $509 million. The remaining approximately $57 million went to public minority shareholders.
3.3 The Monitor’s Findings on the Dividend Process
FTI Consulting, in its capacity as Monitor, conducted an investigation into the dividend beginning in January 2018. Its findings, as reported in court filings and media accounts, were significant.
When Sears Canada paid a $753 million dividend in 2010, the approval process “appears to have been robust,” including management presentations and meetings with outside lawyers to review the plan. In 2010, Sears Canada had an operating profit of $196.3 million.
In 2013, by contrast, “the board and management devoted significantly less time and analysis” to the process, with “limited” correspondence. In 2013, Sears Canada was operating at a loss of $187.8 million.
The Monitor identified “unresolved concerns” over the dividend payments. Of particular concern was the apparent limited analysis that informed the decision, made at a time when Sears was facing “worsening financial results,” and ESL appeared “to have had an urgent liquidity need” based on redemption requests the hedge fund received that year.
The Monitor concluded there was a reasonable basis for the court to consider whether the 2013 dividend payments represented a “transfer at undervalue” under Canada’s Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act.
3.4 The Motive: ESL’s Liquidity Pressure
A critical fact revealed by Sears Canada’s own audited financial statements: in fiscal 2013, the company declared dividends of $509.4 million against reported net earnings of $446.5 million. The board paid out more than the company earned — and the reported earnings themselves were inflated by one-time real estate gains rather than operating performance. The underlying retail business was losing money. The company was, in substance, borrowing from its future to pay its controlling shareholder.
The 2013 dividend was also not the only payment under scrutiny. The Monitor identified a $102 million dividend payment on December 31, 2012 as a second transaction of interest. Retirees and other creditors asked the Ontario Superior Court to scrutinize nearly $3 billion paid to Sears shareholders between 2005 and 2013.
The Monitor’s findings suggested that the 2013 dividend may have been driven not by the interests of Sears Canada, but by the liquidity needs of its controlling shareholder. ESL Investments had received redemption requests from its own investors, creating what the Monitor described as “an urgent need for the cash provided by the 2013 dividend.”
The Globe and Mail reported that the Monitor found “these non-arm’s length parties appear to have been motivated by liquidity pressures in the form of redemption requests from ESL’s investors, which may have created an urgent need for the cash provided by the 2013 dividend.”
Two of the directors who voted for the dividend — William C. Crowley and William R. Harker — had close ties to ESL and Lampert. Crowley had served as president and COO of ESL Investments. Harker had served as general counsel of ESL Investments. Both left ESL in late 2012 to co-found Àshe Capital Management, but remained on the Sears Canada board and voted for the dividend.
3.5 The Broader Pattern of Asset Stripping
The 2013 dividend was not an isolated event. From 2005 to 2013, almost $3 billion in dividends were paid by Sears Canada to shareholders. Key asset sales that funded these dividends included:
In 2005, Sears Canada sold its credit card division to JPMorgan Chase & Co. for $2.2 billion. The sale included the Sears Card credit card portfolio — Canada’s largest in-house proprietary retail credit card portfolio — and the Sears Mastercard portfolio. Sears Canada booked an after-tax gain of approximately $650 million. JPMorgan Chase’s credit card portfolio in Canada was later acquired by Scotiabank, including approximately $1.7 billion in receivables and 2 million active customer accounts.
Sears Canada sold its interest in joint venture properties for $315 million to Montez Income Properties Corporation, with the sale closing in January 2014. The Board announced this sale on November 11, 2013 — eight days before announcing the $509 million dividend. Below-market long-term leases in prime Canadian shopping centres, including Toronto’s Eaton Centre and Yorkdale Shopping Centre, were also given up.
Sears Canada surrendered its exclusive right to use the Craftsman trademark in Canada in connection with the sale by Sears Holdings of the Craftsman business to Stanley Black & Decker in March 2017. This was a U.S. parent forcing a Canadian subsidiary to give up a valuable Canadian brand right so the U.S. parent could complete its own asset sale.
4. The CCAA Proceedings: How the Money Flowed
4.1 The Priority Waterfall
The CCAA proceedings established a priority waterfall that determined who got paid first. The order was: Administration Charge (professional fees for lawyers, Monitor, advisors), KERP Priority Charge (executive retention bonuses), Directors’ Priority Charge (protection for directors), DIP Lenders (debtor-in-possession financing from Wells Fargo and GACP Finance), then all other creditors (including pensioners, employees, suppliers, landlords).
This priority structure is standard in CCAA proceedings. It is also the mechanism by which pensioners were structurally disadvantaged. Every dollar of professional fees, every executive retention bonus, and every DIP lender repayment was paid before a single dollar reached the pension fund.
4.2 The KERP: Executives Got Paid First
The timeline is instructive. On June 22, 2017, the CCAA filing occurred and the KERP (Key Employee Retention Program) was approved in the Initial Order. On July 13, 2017, the Court suspended pension special payments effective October 1, 2017. On August 8, 2017, the first KERP instalment was paid to executives. The KERP entitlements were secured by a court-approved priority charge that ranked ahead of virtually everything except the administration charge.
The $500,000 Employee Hardship Fund, established for approximately 3,100 terminated employees, was funded by executives “voluntarily” forgoing a portion of their KERP entitlements. The maximum payment available to any one recipient was eight weeks’ regular wages up to $1,200 per week. This works out to roughly $161 per terminated employee if split evenly. In exchange for this $500,000, Employee Representative Counsel agreed not to oppose the KERP and withdrew its motion challenging the KERP with prejudice.
4.3 The Garden City Property Sale
The Winnipeg Garden City property was sold to WCRE Investments Ltd. (connected to Hungerford Properties Inc.) for $5 million. The deal was negotiated and signed on April 12, 2017 — before the CCAA filing on June 22, 2017. After the CCAA filing, the property was withdrawn from the court-approved Sale and Investor Solicitation Process (SISP) to honour this pre-filing deal.
A competing bid of $6.75 million had been received but was rejected because it included a leaseback requirement that Sears Canada could not afford. Without the leaseback, that same bidder offered $4.5 million. RioCan, the owner of the adjacent Garden City Shopping Centre, came forward on August 15, 2017 — three days before the court hearing — saying it intended to make a higher offer by August 31. RioCan was told it was too late.
The Monitor approved the sale and stated it had no reason to question the good faith of WCRE. Two independent appraisals were obtained but sealed in confidential appendices. The net proceeds were paid to the DIP Term Lenders. No other creditors — including pensioners — had any economic interest in the Garden City proceeds.
4.4 The PRS Sale: Parts, Customer Lists, and IP Addresses
The Monitor’s Ninth Report (December 20, 2017) covered the sale of Sears Canada’s major appliances protection agreement business assets to Buyers Group of Mississauga Inc. (a DirectBuy Home Improvements subsidiary). The assets included certain parts inventory, customer lists related to the major appliances protection agreement business, and approximately 135,000 internet protocol (IPv4) addresses.
No bids were received for the major appliances protection agreement business during the SISP. After the SISP deadline, the Sale Advisor (BMO Nesbitt Burns) engaged in private negotiations with the PRS Purchaser. The IP addresses were never marketed separately as part of the SISP. The purchase price for the entire transaction was sealed in a confidential appendix.
At 2017 market rates, 135,000 IPv4 addresses would have been worth approximately $1.35–$2 million. The Monitor stated the price was “within the reasonable range of values realized for internet protocol addresses in other transactions.”
5. The Pension: What Happened to 18,000 Retirees
5.1 The Pension Plan
The Sears Canada Inc. Registered Retirement Plan (Registration Number 0360065) was established on January 1, 1971, as a defined benefit pension plan. It was a single employer, multi-jurisdictional, hybrid pension plan. On July 1, 2008, all members had their defined benefit service frozen, although entitlement at termination or retirement would continue to reflect earnings increases after that date. For service on or after July 1, 2008, pension benefits for all members accrued under the defined contribution component.
The 2015 actuarial report indicated that the defined benefit component was underfunded by $267 million on a wind-up basis, with a solvency ratio of 0.85 and a transfer ratio of 0.81. Sears was required to make special payments of approximately $3.7 million per month to amortize this deficit until December 31, 2021.
On July 13, 2017, Justice Hainey of the Ontario Superior Court made an order suspending the obligation for Sears to make special payments to the Plan effective on and after October 1, 2017. Sears made its final special payment on September 30, 2017.
5.2 The Pension Cuts
In June 2018, Morneau Shepell, the replacement pension administrator, reviewed the funded status and determined to reduce monthly pension benefits to 70% during the wind-up process — a 30% cut. This was characterized as an interim measure.
For members outside Ontario, pensions in pay were subsequently increased to 86% of entitlement as of May 1, 2021. A person entitled to $2,000 monthly received approximately $1,720. For members in Ontario, the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund (PBGF) provided partial protection. At the time of the initial pension cuts in 2018, the PBGF cap was $1,000/month. The Ontario government subsequently raised this cap to $1,500/month, retroactively benefiting Sears pensioners. Amounts above the cap are subject to the same 86% payment level as those outside Ontario.
The 14% permanent reduction for a retiree entitled to $2,000/month represents a loss of $280/month, or $3,360/year. Over a 20-year retirement, this is approximately $67,200 in lost pension income per retiree. Across 18,000 retirees, the aggregate projected lifetime pension loss is approximately $1.2 billion. This is not an accounting of the fund’s shortfall; it is an estimate of the total lifetime income loss to retirees as a class.
5.3 The Pension Settlement
Koskie Minsky LLP, as Pension and Retiree Representative Counsel, initially pursued a deemed trust argument that would have given pensioners priority over other creditors. This was opposed by the Monitor and other creditors.
A mediation resulted in a settlement: the pension deficit claim would be treated at 2.5 times the actual deficit amount of $260 million (i.e., $650 million) for distribution purposes. At a recovery rate of approximately 22 cents on the dollar, this translated to approximately $55 million paid to the pension plan.
Total litigation recoveries from the dividend lawsuits added approximately $34 million to the pension plan: approximately $26 million paid directly, plus an additional $8 million flowing through general unsecured creditor distributions.
The combined recovery — approximately $89 million — represents approximately 34% of the $260 million deficit, or approximately 13.7 cents per dollar of the retirees’ $650 million claim for distribution purposes. The initial estate recovery (prior to the 2020 litigation settlements) was approximately $48 million, or 7.4 cents per dollar. The remaining 66% of the shortfall is borne permanently by the retirees through reduced pensions.
5.4 The Pension Wind-Up
TELUS Health (formerly LifeWorks), the wind-up administrator, projected in March 2024 that lump sum payments and annuity purchases would begin in Spring 2025 and be completed by the end of 2025. The last outstanding legal issues were resolved as of February 2024.
For pensioners currently receiving monthly benefits, annuities will be purchased from an insurance company. The terms of the existing pension carry forward to the annuity arrangement. For non-pensioners, the option is a pension or a lump sum (commuted value). The annuities will be based on the funded amount, not the originally promised amount. The permanent reduction is locked in.
As of March 2026, no public update has been issued by Koskie Minsky since the March 2024 status report. It is unclear whether the wind-up has been completed on schedule or has slipped into 2026.
6. The Litigation: Who Sued, Who Settled, Who Decided
6.1 The Dividend Litigation — Three Lawsuits
On December 19, 2018, three separate lawsuits were filed targeting the 2013 dividend:
The Monitor’s Claim: FTI Consulting, as Monitor, brought a claim alleging the dividend was a transfer at undervalue under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (as incorporated into the CCAA under Section 36.1). Defendants included ESL Investments Inc., ESL Partners LP, SPE I Partners LP, SPE Master I LP, ESL Institutional Partners LP, Edward S. Lampert, William Harker, William Crowley, and subsequently Sears Holdings Corporation.
The Litigation Trustee’s Claim: The Hon. Douglas Cunningham Q.C., appointed as Litigation Trustee, brought a claim for breach of fiduciary duty, breach of duty of care, oppression, and conspiracy against the former directors and officers: Ephraim J. Bird, Douglas Campbell, William Crowley, William Harker, R. Raja Khanna, James McBurney, Deborah Rosati, and Donald Ross, plus the ESL parties and Sears Holdings Corporation.
The Pension Administrator’s Claim: Morneau Shepell, as replacement Plan Administrator, brought a claim for breach of fiduciary duty to the Pension Plan as a result of paying the dividend. Same defendants as the Litigation Trustee’s claim.
6.2 The 1291079 Ontario Limited Oppression Class Action
Separately, 1291079 Ontario Limited — a company operated by James Kay that ran a Sears Hometown Store from 2006 to 2013 — brought an oppression class action on behalf of approximately 260 Hometown Dealers. The claim alleged the $509 million dividend was oppressive and contrary to the CBCA, paid at a time when Sears Canada was heading towards insolvency, crippling the retailer’s ability to remain in business.
Counsel for the class action was Sotos LLP (David Sterns, Lou Brzezinski) and Blaney McMurtry (Andy Seretis). Defendants included Sears Canada Inc., Sears Holdings Corporation, ESL Investments Inc., and the individual directors: William C. Crowley, William R. Harker, Donald Campbell Ross, Ephraim J. Bird, Deborah E. Rosati, R. Raja Khanna, James McBurney, and Douglas Campbell.
The certification motion was argued publicly in April 2019. Cross-examination transcripts of James Kay and Andy Seretis (March 29, 2019) reveal significant procedural combativeness. The defence refused to answer dozens of questions. The plaintiff company (1291079 Ontario Limited) had no corporate assets. No third-party litigation funding was sought. No indemnity was provided by counsel.
Under the Claims Process Order, the Representative Plaintiff was excluded from the first $10 million of any Estate Litigation Proceeds (the “Class Action Dividend”) and received an upfront payment of $334,495. This was the price of getting the class action approved within the CCAA framework.
6.3 The Settlements — No Trial, No Public Finding
None of the lawsuits went to trial. Every one settled:
Sears Holdings Corporation: Settled March 16, 2020. The plaintiffs received an allowed Class 4 general unsecured claim of $200 million CAD in SHC’s U.S. Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceeding. This was a claim in a U.S. bankruptcy — worth pennies on the dollar in actual distribution.
Directors: Settled August 2020. Terms not publicly disclosed.
ESL Investments Inc.: Settled September 18, 2020. The court approved the settlement. Terms not fully publicly disclosed. Total litigation recoveries allocated approximately 36% ($26 million) directly to the Sears Canada Pension Plan, with an additional $40 million to Sears Canada for distribution to all unsecured creditors.
The 1291079 Ontario Limited class action: Settled in full by September 2020. Terms not publicly disclosed. Distribution Plan to be developed for class members.
6.4 The U.S. Jurisdictional Problem
A critical question arises: why did a CBCA oppression matter end up in a U.S. bankruptcy court? The answer is that Sears Holdings Corporation filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection in the United States in October 2018. Once in Chapter 11, a worldwide automatic stay applied under U.S. bankruptcy law. The Canadian plaintiffs could not sue SHC in Canada and had to file a proof of claim in the U.S. proceeding.
The Canadian court (Ontario Superior Court) approved the settlement terms. But the money itself was trapped in the U.S. Chapter 11 estate. The Canadian court could not order SHC to pay — SHC was under U.S. bankruptcy protection. A Canadian company’s assets were stripped by a U.S. parent, and when the Canadian retirees came to collect, the U.S. parent sheltered behind U.S. bankruptcy law.
6.5 Did the Retirees Have Their Day in Court?
Partially. The retirees were represented by Koskie Minsky LLP as Pension and Retiree Representative Counsel. They did not individually appear in court. The pension settlement was negotiated at mediation and approved by the court. Koskie Minsky voted in favour of the final CCAA Plan on behalf of the retirees.
The dividend litigation — the retirees’ best shot at real recovery — was conducted by the Monitor, the Litigation Trustee, and the Pension Administrator. Koskie Minsky’s clients (the retirees) were direct beneficiaries of the Pension Administrator’s claim, and Koskie Minsky coordinated closely with the litigation parties. However, the retirees’ counsel was not the lead plaintiff in the dividend actions. The settlement negotiations with Lampert and ESL were conducted by the Monitor and Litigation Trustee, with the pension recovery flowing to retirees through the Pension Support Agreement formula.
The trial was scheduled multiple times — originally for May 19, 2020 (adjourned due to COVID-19), then rescheduled to September 8, 2020. It never took place. The settlements ensured that no court ever made a finding of fact about whether the directors breached their fiduciary duties, whether the dividend was a transfer at undervalue, whether Lampert and ESL controlled the process, or whether anyone acted dishonestly. The evidence was never tested. The substance of the case was never publicly aired.
8. The Initium Gap: Assets That Disappeared
8.1 What Initium Was
Initium Commerce Labs Inc. was not a trivial subsidiary. It was the technology and e-commerce platform supporting approximately $500 million in annual online and catalogue sales. Sears Canada was described by Wikipedia as “one of the biggest e-commerce players in Canada, with CAD$505 million in sales in 2015 — more than Walmart and others who had begun pushing aggressively into online sales, such as Canadian Tire.”
The Initium platform provided omni-channel availability of orders, integrated logistics, and improved search and checkout experiences. It was built with the support of a technology partnership with CGI, a $14 billion global IT services company. The sears.ca website operated under Initium’s direction until October 19, 2017, when it ceased accepting online purchases.
8.2 What Initium Would Have Held
Based on the nature of the business, Initium Commerce Labs would have held the following categories of assets:
Technology Assets: The sears.ca e-commerce platform itself — custom-built or licensed software, the omni-channel ordering system, integrated logistics platform, search engine, checkout system, mobile applications, and all associated source code and intellectual property. The CGI partnership contract. Any proprietary algorithms, recommendation engines, or customer analytics tools.
Customer Data: The sears.ca online customer database, including registered user accounts (names, addresses, emails, phone numbers), purchase histories, browsing and search data, wish lists, saved payment methods (tokenized), warranty registration data, catalogue order histories, and Sears Club loyalty program membership data. Sears operated 1,300+ catalogue pickup locations — every catalogue order generated a customer record. The credit card data went to JPMorgan Chase in 2005, but the customer relationship data — who bought what, when, from where — stayed with Sears Canada and would have been in Initium’s systems.
IP Addresses: Approximately 135,000 IPv4 addresses were assigned to Sears Canada and would have been operationally managed through Initium’s infrastructure. These were sold to Buyers Group of Mississauga as part of the PRS transaction.
Domain Names: sears.ca and associated domains.
8.3 The Gap: No Public Record of Initium Asset Sales
Despite extensive searching across all available Monitor reports, court filings, and public records, no publicly available document itemizes Initium Commerce Labs’ assets, their valuation, or their disposition. There is no record of a separate Initium asset sale. There is no record of the customer database being valued or marketed. There is no record of the technology platform being offered to potential buyers.
Either these assets were bundled into the general Sears Canada asset pool and sold without separate identification, or they were abandoned as valueless. A $500-million-a-year e-commerce platform with millions of customer records is not valueless. Industry benchmarks suggest that comparable e-commerce platforms supporting that level of annual sales, with integrated logistics and large customer databases, would typically have replacement costs in the tens of millions of dollars. Customer databases of this scale are routinely valued in the millions in the loyalty and marketing data marketplace. Without an itemized disposition record, it is impossible to determine whether these assets were captured for the benefit of creditors.
The Third Report of the Monitor (October 2, 2017) contains the detailed SISP results and is the report most likely to address what happened to Initium’s assets. The SISP bid book and any asset purchase agreements specific to Initium’s technology assets should be in the court record under Court File No. CV-17-11846-00CL.
8.4 The Customer Data Trail
Multiple streams of Sears Canada customer data were transferred to third parties over the course of the company’s decline:
In 2005, the credit card portfolio (Canada’s largest in-house proprietary retail credit card portfolio) was sold to JPMorgan Chase, then subsequently to Scotiabank — including approximately $1.7 billion in receivables and 2 million active customer accounts.
In December 2017, the PRS customer lists (major appliances protection agreement customers) were sold to Buyers Group of Mississauga / DirectBuy Home Improvements.
The general sears.ca online customer database, catalogue customer records, Sears Club loyalty data, and warranty registration data — all of which would have been held by Initium Commerce Labs — have no documented disposition in the public record.
9. Enforcement and Accountability: Who Was Supposed to Act
9.1 The CBCA
The Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA) governs Sears Canada’s corporate obligations. The oppression remedy under sections 238 and 241 of the CBCA is a civil remedy — meaning private parties must bring the action themselves. There is no government regulator that investigates and prosecutes CBCA oppression claims.
The solvency test under section 42 of the CBCA prohibits a corporation from declaring or paying a dividend if there are reasonable grounds for believing the corporation is, or would after the payment be, unable to pay its liabilities as they become due, or the realizable value of its assets would be less than the total of its liabilities and stated capital. The directors’ defence was that Sears Canada passed this test at the time. The Monitor and Litigation Trustee said it did not — or at minimum that the analysis was so cursory it was a breach of the duty of care.
Corporations Canada (under Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada) administers the CBCA but does not investigate or prosecute misconduct. No government body investigated the 2013 dividend under the CBCA.
9.2 The Ontario Pension Regulator
The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO, now FSRA) was the pension regulator. FSCO stood by as Sears Canada paid $611 million to shareholders in 2012 and 2013 while the pension plan was underfunded. The Superintendent of Financial Services ordered the wind-up of the pension plan effective October 1, 2017, but did not take enforcement action regarding the dividend payments. Internal management reports from 2015 and 2016 — the years between the dividend and the CCAA filing — likely showed a rapid decline in the company’s financial position. Why the pension regulator did not intervene earlier to demand more security or stop the suspension of special payments when going-concern warnings first appeared remains unexplained.
Ontario is the only province in Canada that provides any form of guarantee to its resident pensioners through the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund (PBGF), and even that is capped at $1,500/month. Pensioners outside Ontario have no such protection. The U.S. equivalent, the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC), provides far more generous coverage — up to $5,420/month for a 65-year-old retiree.
9.3 Criminal Law
Under Canadian criminal law, the conduct described could potentially fall under breach of trust, fraud, or conspiracy to defraud creditors. The RCMP’s Integrated Market Enforcement Teams (IMET) could theoretically investigate corporate fraud, but they have historically focused on securities fraud, not CBCA oppression. No Crown prosecutor touched the Sears Canada case. No criminal charges were laid against any director, officer, or shareholder in connection with the 2013 dividend. The settlements ensured no court ever made a finding of fact about what occurred.
10. The Numbers: A Summary
$509 million: The 2013 extraordinary dividend paid to shareholders
$452 million: Approximate amount received by U.S. entities (Sears Holdings, ESL, Lampert)
$3 billion: Total dividends paid by Sears Canada to shareholders from 2005 to 2013
$2.2 billion: Sale price of credit card division to JPMorgan Chase (2005)
$260 million: Pension plan deficit at wind-up
$180 million: Approximate total available for distribution to all Sears Canada creditors
$89 million: Approximate total recovery to the pension plan (settlement + litigation proceeds)
$55 million: Pension settlement recovery from the CCAA estate
$34 million: Pension recovery from dividend litigation proceeds
$48 million: Total estimated pension settlement value (Globe and Mail reporting)
18,000: Approximate number of Sears Canada retirees affected
14–30%: Range of pension reductions experienced by retirees
86%: Current pension payment level (percentage of entitlement) for most retirees
7.4 to 13.7 cents: Recovery per dollar of the retirees’ $650 million claim (7.4 cents initial estate recovery; 13.7 cents including 2020 litigation proceeds)
$500,000: Total Employee Hardship Fund for 3,100 terminated workers
$0: Criminal charges laid
11. Unanswered Questions
The following questions arise from the factual record and have not been publicly answered:
1. Initium Commerce Labs Assets: What happened to the technology assets, customer database, and intellectual property of Initium Commerce Labs Inc.? Were they separately valued? Were they marketed to potential buyers? If so, who bought them and for how much? If not, why not?
2. The Sears.ca Customer Database: What happened to the general online customer database maintained by Initium Commerce Labs? This would have included millions of Canadian consumer records with purchase histories. Where did this data go? Was it transferred under PIPEDA-compliant procedures?
3. The CGI Contract: What was the value of the CGI technology partnership contract? Was it assigned, terminated, or allowed to lapse? Did CGI receive any payment or consideration?
4. The Garden City Appraisals: What did the two independent appraisals (December 2016 and May 2017) say about the value of the Garden City Property? These are sealed in confidential appendices. If they showed the property was worth significantly more than $5 million, the sale to WCRE may have been below market value.
5. WCRE/Hungerford Relationships: Who are the principals of WCRE Investments Ltd. and Hungerford Properties Inc.? Did any Sears Canada insiders, advisors, or directors have relationships with these entities?
6. The PRS Purchase Price: What was the actual purchase price for the PRS Parts, Customer Lists, and 135,000 IP addresses? This is sealed in a confidential appendix to the Ninth Report.
7. The Brandon Stranzl Bid: Executive Chairman Brandon Stranzl publicly stepped away from day-to-day operations on August 15, 2017 to prepare a bid to purchase the company through the SISP. The Board’s Special Committee approved this arrangement, and FTI coordinated any support he required from the company. The bid was ultimately unsuccessful — no viable going-concern transaction emerged from the SISP. The question remains: what information did Stranzl have access to as sitting chairman, and did any SISP participants raise concerns about information asymmetry?
8. The 1291079 Ontario Limited FST Challenge: What was the outcome of the Financial Services Tribunal hearing requested by 1291079 Ontario Limited (through Sotos LLP) challenging the pension wind-up?
9. The Settlement Amounts: What were the actual settlement amounts paid by the directors and by ESL Investments? These have not been fully publicly disclosed.
10. Criminal Referral: Was any referral made to the RCMP or any Crown prosecutor regarding the conduct of the directors, Lampert, or ESL in connection with the 2013 dividend? If not, why not?
11. Independent Committee: Did the Sears Canada board form an Independent Committee specifically to review the 2013 dividend, given the obvious conflicts of interest arising from Crowley’s, Harker’s, and Bird’s prior ESL roles? If so, who served on it, and what was their specific compensation or relationship to the controlling shareholders? If not, why not?
12. D&O Insurance: Were the director settlement payments made by Directors and Officers (D&O) insurance carriers rather than personally by the directors? If the insurance paid, the “accountability” was an insurance payout — a corporate expense originally funded by Sears Canada itself — rather than a personal financial consequence for the directors who approved the dividend.
13. Professional Fees vs. Pension Recovery: What were the total professional fees (Monitor, legal counsel, Sale Advisor, Litigation Trustee, and other advisors) paid out of the Sears Canada estate over the course of the CCAA proceedings? How do those fees compare to the approximately $34 million recovered for the pension plan through the dividend litigation? The Administration Charge sits at the top of the CCAA priority waterfall. This comparison would reveal whether the professionals hired to protect creditors were paid more than the creditors they were protecting ultimately received.
12. What Happened to Initium
Initium disappeared into the liquidation without a trace in the public record.
All three Initium entities — Commerce Labs, Logistics Services, and Trading and Sourcing Corp. — were named Applicants in the CCAA proceeding. They were included in the Initial Order on June 22, 2017. They appear in the header of every Monitor report from the Second through the Thirty-Ninth and beyond. And then nothing. No separate asset sale. No separate valuation. No report stating that Initium Commerce Labs’ technology platform was sold to a specific buyer for a specific amount. No report stating that Initium’s customer database was transferred under PIPEDA procedures. No report stating that Initium’s assets were determined to have no value.
The most likely explanation — flagged here as inferred rather than confirmed — is that Initium’s assets were treated as part of the undifferentiated Sears Canada estate. FTI appears to have treated all 18 Applicant entities as a single operational group for purposes of asset realization. The technology platform would have been shut down when sears.ca stopped accepting orders on October 19, 2017. The CGI contract would have been disclaimed or terminated. The customer data would have been retained by the estate for CCAA administration purposes. The IP addresses — the one Initium-related asset that can be traced — were sold to Buyers Group of Mississauga as part of the PRS transaction in December 2017.
12.1 Probable Disposition of Each Asset Category
The sears.ca Platform: Custom software, the omni-channel ordering system, checkout and search infrastructure — this probably died when the servers were shut down. Software without ongoing maintenance, hosting, and development has a short shelf life. If nobody bought it within months of the liquidation, its value degraded rapidly. But “probably died” is not the same as “was properly valued and determined to be worthless.” That determination, if it was made, is not in the public record.
The Customer Database: Millions of records of Canadian consumers, built over decades. This is the most troubling unknown. Under PIPEDA, customer data cannot simply be abandoned or destroyed without process. It can be transferred as part of a business asset sale if proper notice and consent procedures are followed. If it was not sold, it should have been securely destroyed. There should be documentation of either outcome. None has been found in the public record.
The CGI Contract: A technology services agreement with CGI, a $14 billion global IT company. This would have been either disclaimed under the CCAA (which requires Monitor approval and court notification) or assumed by a purchaser. It does not appear on any list of disclaimed contracts identified in the Monitor reports reviewed, and no purchaser of Initium’s technology business has been identified.
The Domain sears.ca: Dormant. It appears to remain part of the bankrupt estate managed by FTI.
Initium Logistics Services: Would have been wound down when the physical distribution network shut. The Calgary national logistics centre had been sold for $84 million in 2016 (with a leaseback arrangement). When the leaseback ended with liquidation, the logistics operation ceased.
Initium Trading and Sourcing Corp.: Handled procurement and overseas supplier relationships. Those relationships would have terminated when the company stopped ordering merchandise.
12.2 A Possible Explanation: CGI Step-In Rights
In technology partnerships of the type Sears Canada had with CGI, contracts typically include IP ownership clauses and step-in rights. If Sears Canada defaulted on payments to CGI during the CCAA proceedings, CGI may have had the contractual right to reclaim the source code, the platform, or other intellectual property as collateral. This would explain why the technology assets do not appear in the Monitor’s sale reports — they may have been reclaimed by the vendor rather than sold through the SISP. If this occurred, it would have been a secured creditor exercising its rights, which is standard in insolvency proceedings. However, there should be documentation of any such reclamation in the court record, and none has been identified.
12.3 The Timeline
Initium was born in 2016 as Brandon Stranzl’s vision to transform Sears Canada into an e-commerce company. It lived for roughly 18 months. It was incorporated as three separate Canadian corporations with real employees, real technology, real contracts, and real data. When the liquidation came, it appears to have been absorbed into the general estate without any public accounting of what its assets were worth or where they went.
That is the gap. It may be an innocent gap — technology assets in a bankruptcy often have limited residual value once the business stops operating. Or it may be a gap worth investigating — because a $500-million-a-year e-commerce operation does not simply evaporate without leaving something of value behind.
The Third Report of the Monitor (October 2, 2017) and the SISP results documentation in the court file are the places where the answer should exist. If anyone with standing wished to pursue this, those are the documents to request from the court record under Court File No. CV-17-11846-00CL.
13. Conclusion
The factual record documents a pattern: a Canadian company’s assets were systematically stripped over eight years through $3 billion in dividends to U.S. shareholders, culminating in a $509 million extraordinary dividend approved through a cursory process by directors with conflicts of interest, at a time when the company was operating at a $188 million annual loss and the pension was underfunded. The primary beneficiary was ESL Investments, a hedge fund controlled by Edward S. Lampert, which appeared to have had an urgent need for cash due to redemption requests from its own investors.
The Canadian retirees — 18,000 people who built the company over decades — received permanent pension reductions of 14–30%. The total recovery to the pension plan was approximately $89 million against a $260 million deficit. No trial occurred. No court made findings of fact. No one faced criminal charges. The settlements ensured that the full truth of what happened was never publicly tested.
The system worked exactly as designed. The design is the problem.
Sources and References
- FTI Consulting Canada Inc., Second Report of the Monitor, August 16, 2017
- FTI Consulting Canada Inc., Ninth Report of the Monitor, December 20, 2017
- Supplementary Record of the Defendants Crowley et al., Cross-Examination Transcripts, April 12, 2019
- Koskie Minsky LLP, Letters to Retirees and Case Updates (2017–2024)
- CBC News reporting by Sophia Harris (November 2018, August 2018, December 2018)
- The Globe and Mail reporting (February 2018, November 2018, December 2018)
- Sotos LLP / Blaney McMurtry, Sears Canada Oppression Class Action case page
- FTI Consulting Canada Inc., Thirty-Ninth Report (ESL Settlement), September 2020
- Sears Canada Wikipedia entry (Initium details, corporate history)
- Benefits Canada (pension settlement reporting, September 2019)
- Canadian Accountant, “Why did Sears Canada go bankrupt?” (February 1, 2018) — fiscal 2013 earnings and dividend data
- SEC filings: Sears Canada Inc. Form 6-K (quarterly earnings releases, dividend announcements)
- FTI Consulting Canada Inc. Monitor’s Website: cfcanada.fticonsulting.com/searscanada/